Form 8-K





Washington, D.C. 20549







Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of

the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported): May 11, 2015




(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)




Delaware   0-16617   77-0016691

(State or Other Jurisdiction

of Incorporation)



File Number)


(IRS Employer

Identification No.)

101 Innovation Drive, San Jose, California   95134
(Address of principal executive offices)   (Zip Code)

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code: (408) 544-7000

Not Applicable

(Former name or former address, if changed since last report.)



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions:


¨ Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


¨ Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))




Item 5.07. Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

Altera Corporation (the “Company”) held its Annual Meeting on May 11, 2015, at 2:30 p.m. local time. All of the Company’s nominees for director were re-elected, Proposals 2, 3, 4 and 5 were approved by the Company’s stockholders with the requisite vote, and Proposal 6 was not approved by the Company’s stockholders. The following matters were acted upon at the meeting:


1 Election of directors to serve until the next annual meeting of stockholders:




John P. Daane

     240,287,586         14,928,570         1,091,613         15,772,956   

T. Michael Nevens

     216,614,179         38,290,699         1,402,891         15,772,956   

A. Blaine Bowman

     244,872,055         11,086,462         349,252         15,772,956   

Elisha W. Finney

     244,926,751         11,031,110         349,908         15,772,956   

Kevin McGarity

     243,176,222         12,793,312         338,235         15,772,956   

Krish A. Prabhu

     243,631,383         12,326,144         350,242         15,772,956   

Shane V. Robison

     243,654,499         12,302,839         350,431         15,772,956   

John Shoemaker

     243,640,198         12,329,960         337,611         15,772,956   

Thomas H. Waechter

     241,210,012         14,748,631         349,126         15,772,956   
     FOR      AGAINST      ABSTAIN      BROKER

2       Approval of an amendment to the 2005 Equity Incentive Plan to increase by 3,000,000 the number of shares of common stock reserved for issuance under the plan.

     231,049,309         24,941,372         317,088         15,772,956   

3       Approval of an amendment to the 1987 Employee Stock Purchase Plan to increase by 1,000,000 the number of shares of common stock reserved for issuance under the plan.

     251,041,141         4,166,313         1,100,315         15,772,956   

4       Approval, on an advisory basis, of named executive officer compensation.

     176,043,985         76,842,547         3,421,237         15,772,956   

5       Ratification of the appointment of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as our independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2015.

     270,770,940         888,798         420,987         —     

6       A stockholder proposal regarding an independent chair of the board.

     121,692,513         134,323,997         291,259         15,772,956   


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.



/s/ Katherine E. Schuelke

Katherine E. Schuelke

Senior Vice President, General Counsel, and Secretary

Dated: May 12, 2015